h1

Sarah Palin vs. Family Guy

February 19, 2010

I have to start this post by mentioning that I am a HUGE Family Guy fan.  Yes, it’s a cartoon and the humor is sometimes tasteless, but its also funny and irreverent.  What I like best is their willingness to take on any issue – they are equal opportunity offenders!

I watched the episode a couple of days after it aired.  While there were a few crass comments, I didn’t find it very offensive.  At one point Ellen, the “Down Syndrome Girl” is asked what her parents do.  She replies that “her Dad is an accountant and her Mom used to be the Governor of Alaska.”  Sarah Palin was offended and posted comments on Facebook, which quickly became national news.

It turns out Family Guy did a pretty good job of covering their asses by hiring an actual actress (Andrea Fay Friedman) with Down Syndrome to play the part of the Down Syndrome girl.  Yesterday she sent an email to media outlets rebutting Ms. Palin’s comments.  The NY Times published this quote:

“I guess former Governor Palin does not have a sense of humor. I thought the line “I am the daughter of the former governor of Alaska” was very funny. I think the word is “sarcasm.”

For some reason the NY Times neglected to print the remainder of her comments:

“In my family we think laughing is good. My parents raised me to have a sense of humor and to live a normal life. My mother did not carry me around under her arm like a loaf of French bread the way former Governor Palin carries her son Trig around looking for sympathy and votes.”

What’s your take?  Should Sarah Palin have laughed this off?  Should Fox & Family Guy have been more sensitive?  Does any of this even matter?

Leave a Reply

